If I was a bee

Eddy Winko:

I keep worrying about the bees, as you may have noticed, so when I read this I thought I would share it; wonderful words as are many of the Optimistic Pessimist.

Originally posted on The optimistic pessimist:

If I was a bee

Where would I be?

Flying free

A breeze carrying me

Or sat near a tree

By the old factory

Looking down on the flea

Envious of me.

 

If I was a bee

What would I be?

A worker endlessly

Toiling restlessly

Until the end of me

Diseased horribly

Dying painfully

Farmers forgetting me.

 

If I was a bee

How would I be?

Magic maker me,

Sweet creativity.

Feeding everybody.

Damaged chemically.

Who will protect me?

You will miss my honey.

View original

3 thoughts on “If I was a bee

  1. Left a like on the original blog. The bees in the clover fields around here do seem to be flourishing, but that is no indication of their demise elsewhere. Regards to you and Gosia, Pete.

  2. Nice.
    In have been worried about the bees as well! Our modest patch of cucumbers every year has tons of blossoms all over it, right? Usually there are so many honeybees humming from flower to flower the entire bed is buzzing loudly. This year, there are the usual abundant flowers, but there have been very few bees. The past few days there has been a bit more buzzing though, so maybe they are just late like everything else this year. Have you noticed this lateness in your area? We are just now getting ripe high-bush blackberries, and they are usually done by this time. Also, the mushrooms have all been late so far this year! No rain recently put a stop to all my chanterelle buttons, sadly. I think the lower than usual temperatures have contributed to the lateness also.

    Here’s to the bees!

    • I’m hoping you are right and that it is just the timing that is out of sync, the bees were certainly late here this spring and the orchard didn’t have the usual buzz when the apples and other fruits were in flower. Only yesterday someone made the same comment as you about their cucumbers.
      Fingers crossed for the bees :)

Leave a Reply

