From sugar cube to pagoda

For those of you that follow the blog then you will have noticed my absence, for those who don’t then welcome to Winkos; a blog about all sorts of things centred around the construction of a straw bale house in Poland and our search for a life outside of the rat race.

It’s almost a month since my last post and probably as long since I even read any of the blogs that I follow; you would think that I had lost my internet connection, and in a way it does feel like that.

But it is work and events that have kept me from the keyboard and I’m happy to be able to report that our recent efforts have transformed the sugar cube into a pagoda as the terrace gained a roof and a deck.

If I’m honest this push to get things done on the exterior of the house and complete the terrace, albeit with temporary barriers for safety, was driven by events; as after seven years together and the last 8 months planning, Gosia and I finally tied the knot.

If you know us on Facebook then you will already have seen the photos, which is just as well because I’m not likely to post many on the blog and for now I can’t post any at all as they are in the hands of our friend who took all the photos of the event; but take my word for it it was a truly fantastic day :)

And that’s it for now, a short post to announce a big event, hope to catch up with some reading and blog more soon.

16 thoughts on “From sugar cube to pagoda

  1. Hi. First of all, many congratulations. I had assumed it was work on the house and land which was keeping you away. The home looks superb and what a way to celebrate the big advance. Look forward to hearing more as and when; I don’t ‘do’ Facebook but maybe I’ll ask Petronela to bring up your pix and have a gander.

  2. I kept wondering when we were going to hear from you again. Congratulations on tying the knot. My wife and I did the same over 40 years ago. She is the heart and soul of this little operation and I would be lost without her.
    That house looks so grand with the extra trimmings. Do you think you’ll be able to winter over in it this year?

    • Thank you Pat, Gosia is my heart and soul and without her we would never have got this far. As for the winter, it looks like I’m heading off to the UK to look for work again; no money for the heating system :)

      • It looks like I’m going to have to wait a whole year before I get that picture of snow on the ground and the windows lit up with the glow of warmth and light. Are you off the the UK already?

      • One of the views I love to see is when I return from the barn on an evening and the lights are glowing, casting little oblongs of yellow over the land; as yet without snow, but you never know as I’m not leaving until October\November so you may get that picture yet:) I hope to get a post up this weekend to provide an update.

  3. Congratulations to you both, great news! I notice you have been even quieter on the blog front than me (I managed only 2 posts in a month), but no wonder, you have been so busy. Look forward to hearing of your summer work progress, which looks significant, when you have more time, T.

    • Thank you Tracey. I hope to update some more soon, but as you will notice by my late reply we are keeping up the work rate to get as much done before the cold sets in. Looking forward to reading your posts:)

  4. Congratulations to you both from Stabienszczyzna. Look forward to Winter blogging, your strawbale wonderland has given us inspiration for next year. We raise a glass to “gorzka wodka”, Na zdrowie! Ola and John

  5. Many congratulations to you and Gosia from Norfolk, a new Mr and Mrs Winko in the world! The house looks great, I really like the roofed terrace. I can imagine sitting on that, enjoying a large vodka. Who knows, one day?
    As i don’t do Facebook, I will have to wait for the wedding photos.
    Great to see you back though. Regards as always, Pete.

Leave a Reply

