Loose ends

Don’t worry, it’s not a post about umbilical cords! Although I will quickly report that Zara insisted on getting in on the birthing action and delivered five puppies into the world on Wednesday the 19th, so plenty of umbilical cords in my life at the moment; it seems I was destined to be a dad!

DSC08697

Talking of new life it’s also worth mentioning that the chilli’s have germinated and the first few leaves are reaching for the sky.

DSC08687

I’d also like to say a big thank you all for your kind words, wishes and poetry, Gosia especially liked the poetry. A few more photos can be found here, for those of you who like looking at baby photos! It also gets a few hits on my website which I am hoping to develop over the coming weeks to replace the blog (or maybe not)

Ok, back to the post, the loose ends that I am referring to are the posts that I meant to write in the autumn but never seemed to get round to, but as my camera is now my best friend again I found myself reviewing old photos and stumbled upon pictures that I had taken specifically for a post, so rather than waste them I thought I’d cram them into a catch up of sorts.

Elderflower beer! Do you remember that? Well I almost forgot about it, that was until we started the clean up and clear out  as we prepared to leave the land for the winter last year, and then I found it hiding in the back of the pivnica, bottles containing a golden yellow liquid, almost fluorescent.

DSC08555DSC08561

Not one to shy away from the unknown and casting away the slightly cloudy appearance and sediment in the bottles, I grabbed a jar and tried the homemade tipple. Light, probably about 4% in strength, fragrant with the elder and tasting slightly of the oranges that were used in the brewing process. Mildly effervescent, reminding me of a homemade lemonade and as such perfect for hot summer days; ideal for quenching your thirst after a hard days graft. I will be making it again that’s for sure.

My second loose end is the one coming out of the end of a plastic pipe.

DSC08582

In the words of Mr Harris, ‘can you tell what it is yet?’ Well, it’s a compost thermometer of course, available from Amazon, www.humanure.com  and occasionally from garden centres for around £20,  except this one only cost me a couple of quid for the standard household thermometer and a bit of invention.

First check that you thermometer will fit in your pipe, then cut the pipe to the desired length (about 60cm or 24 inches in old money), attach string to thermometer, plug the pipe one end with a cork and drop in your temperature guide. Take to the pile, insert, leave for a while and take a reading by pulling on the string to reveal the poo free metron. I look forward to reporting on the spring temperature next time  we visit; next week I hope!

DSC08579DSC08587

Phew, that feels better, two loose ends tied in a bow and just in time as my Polish family is congregating downstairs to say hello to Malina; no doubt Vodka will be involved. Na zdrowie!

10 thoughts on “Loose ends

  1. I am happy Gosia liked the poetry and I have looked at the photos too. Beautiful!! Take a lot because they change so quickly.

    Loose ends just beget more loose ends. :(

    • Thank you Esther:) Glad to see you are reading again, but don’t over do it!
      The camera is no longer a toy, it’s essential :) I’ll let you know when I put some more pics up.

  2. More sweet baby pictures, the pups are lovely. I bet the beer was too. Glad to see the chillis coming on. I’m putting off planting mine for a couple of weeks, on account of the bad weather. I’m getting outa here – off to London for a bit….

    • The puppy picks got more hits than the baby pics :) The beer was surprisingly good, I will definitely increase production.
      Have a great time in London, although recounting some of your past posts there is know doubt that you will. All the best.

  3. What’s happening with the website then Eddy, are you going ‘pro’ mate?
    Have you got a home for the pups, or are you going to keep them?
    So many questions, just as well you already answered my one about the humanure thermometer, I was getting worried that you didn’t have one!
    I imagined you all disappearing in an enormous cloud of you know what one day, when your pile reached the core temperature of the sun!
    Cheers old bean. Pete.

    • Just toying with the idea of moving to a new web host; I have had the domains winko and winkos for so long; maybe winkettes soon :) I can buy a hosting account for about £15 a year which will give me more space, a faster connection, no random adverts and the possibility to run my own adverts should I choose to do so; I need to sell some composting thermometers!. Still WordPress, just not on their server.
      We hope to keep a few of the pups, I need them to look after the chickens! Looking for homes for the rest; as long as they won’t be chained up.
      I’m hoping to heat the house with the electricity generated once the compost reaches critical mass :)

      • Cheers Eddy, I feel like I set you homework again! Glad to hear all the positive plans, and good news that you can keep some of the pups, your little girl will grow up surrounded by dogs, always a good thing.
        Don’t forget to keep in touch when you ‘go Web’…
        Love to all, Pete.

      • I grew up with dogs and after a time without them in Jersey I’m glad I have them back in my life; I have named one of the pups Mick already, the future friend and protector of Michalina :)
        I’m hoping nothing will change with the blog, I’ll still be in your reader, still see stats, still comment as Winko, everything remains the same; I just get more control and I have a new address.
        All the best, The Winkos :)

Leave a Reply

