I’m following a tree

Tired of following other blogs? Looking for some excitement and purpose in your life, have a camera and two minutes of free time once a month? Then you need to follow a tree as suggested by our friends  over at the provocatively named Loose and Leafy!

Solarbeez first brought my attention to it and I thought it seemed like a good idea, all that remains for me to do is choose a tree and post my updates. Find out more here http://looseandleafy.blogspot.co.uk/p/what-is-tree-following-and-list-of-tree.html

I am torn between one of the old oak trees that sit at the side of our track on the way down to the house; a good option if I want to get the house in on the shot, or a buk (Polish for beech) tree that I planted last year after rescuing it from a certain death my strimmer.


Ok, I’m going with the buk, if only because I planted it myself and it should be an interesting journey to see how it develops, or even survives considering the damage it has already taken from deer last autumn.

DSC08789

Food for the deer

Standing at 2.5 meters high, it’s quite a slender specimen, probably as in it’s previous home it was surrounded by lots of other trees, my intervention with the spade may well have saved it from a certain death as it was crowded out by bigger and faster growing neighbours.

DSC08787

A lone buk (beech I think)

The climate in Poland is quite extreme, ranging from –35 in the winter to +35 in the summer, although this year we have seen mild winter and spring seems to be here early with temperatures into the teens during the day, dropping back down around freezing during the night. It looks like it’s just starting to come into bud.

All pictures taken on the 11th of March. Now to set a reminder on the computer to do this again in a months time!

 

7 thoughts on “I’m following a tree

  1. I’m ‘following’ a little sapling I planted, too (an Alder) – it’s interesting having a reason to go and really look closely at it. And I’ve enjoyed reading about lots of other trees, too. Good luck with the straw-bale build!

  2. Wonderful to have you following a tree. I’ve been watching my tree carefully. It’s just starting to leaf out so I’m getting closeups for a sort of time lapse thing.
    I have to say, I’d be torn between the choices you have. That far away shot of the trees and your beautiful straw bale house look good enough to follow also.
    You might have sneak some progress shots in at the tail end of your tree following post just for Pat. :-)

    • Great to be following a tree, thank you for the link and inspiration:)
      I’ll make sure I get some shots of the oaks (something else there not sure what it is) I must get an evening picture as the sun travels through the west window, to the east and then finally through the trees as they have no leaves at the moment; I noticed it the other night as I took Jackie on her evening walk, great to see though the house :) Thanks again Pat. Cheers, Eddy

  3. After spending countless hours clearing up acorns, branches, and tons of leaves from our two Oaks, the last thing I want to do is follow their progress Eddy! They managed a few hundred years without me, and will no doubt do a few hundred more, when I’m gone. I think you are right to follow a young tree, at least you will see it develop. (Or not…)
    Your weather at the moment sounds similar to ours. Sunny and warm days, chilly nights and foggy mornings.
    Best wishes from Norfolk, Pete.

    • You are more aware of your tree than many already; embrace it, although who knows it’s girth!The weather is indeed fine; almost a summers day today, hoping it lasts for a few more days as I’m on the land and the nights are cold.
      All the best, Eddy

Leave a Reply

