How could I forget?

How to save water and the world

Compost pile

To be honest I can’t forget, I’m forever reminded by the rising level of sawdust and ultimately Gosias final reminder it needs emptying; however you would be correct if you were thinking that it is a number of weeks since the composting toilet has made an appearance. Not that we have had any ‘trouble’ in that department (we both eat fresh fruit everyday) or we have being tempted away by our neighbors high-tech ablutions, it’s simply that we have spent around 12 days away over the last 20. So a quick calculation shows once again the toilet has put in consistent performance and provided a good weeks worth of storage.

Now I know from my blog statistics page that you like the pictures I post as they receive more clicks than anything else on this blog, so with this in mind I thought I better start to explain things using more pictures rather than rambling on and leaving you none the wiser:) Don’t worry I have painstakingly edited all the photos and removed any turds!

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

5 thoughts on “How could I forget?”

    1. Believe it or not I fitted a villeroy and boch toilet seat first of all, then Gosia pointed out that it may have only cost £2 at the car boot sale but it would be £80 new; so I swapped it out pretty quick 🙂

  1. Using a sawdust toilet makes perfect sense. You save water, a very valuable resource, and you can use the compost for your garden. We have been using the Joseph Jenkins method for over four years, I’m just not brave enough to blog about it…nice going…maybe you’ll start a movement. 🙂

    1. Don’t tell anyone, but we intend to rely on composting toilets in the house when it’s finished, so no nasty black water to deal with; should save us quite a bit on plumbing as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

