Naay watther

Or if you’re not lucky enough to be Yorkshireman, ‘no water’

Even the guys drilling are loosing faith, or they were until this evening when after 4 hours of pumping water from a very deep hole, which is no more than 30 meters deep (I say this for legal reasons) they came across what could only be described as fairly clear water; certainly clearer than the 30,000 litres of water we have pumped down in the last two days  to keep the drill head cool (no doubt close to 200,000 litres over the last two weeks).

Now this is by no means the end of it, we have to inspect the level again in the morning to check the depth of water (it may go down), if all goes well (no pun intended) we will at long last have our own independent water supply. I don’t want to get too excited about this as it will be costing us more than twice as much as we had anticipated, which is a big hit on a tight budget, and as yet it still doesn’t exist; I’m just hoping. If all else fails we will just have to build a big water tank and collect the rain water 🙂

Despite all the drama of the bore hole we have moved on and cleared all the straw and clay and lime render that had settled like a moat around the foundation of the house ( I told you Gosia always has a list of jobs to do), which was then transported by tractor and spread over the top field. Now tell me how many other types of building you could gather up the waste material and chuck on your field that will ultimately improve your crop? We also managed to clear the last of the trees that were felled during the trench digging for the electricity, as well as thinning out a good-sized area of trees, coppicing any willow that we came across and hoping that some of the birch will do the same; so never a dull moment. I also attended to my ‘special duty’ and the composting toilet is now ready to receive once agin, but I’ll write that up later…or tomorrow; now I’ve seen the time, 9.30; well past my bed time 🙂

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

10 thoughts on “Naay watther”

  1. I’ve got the Krakow weather forecast as a ‘favorite’ now so I can see the extreme temperatures you were referring to…the question is did you get the water lines dug in from the well to the house before the cold weather set in?

    1. Try Rzeszow; a little closer than Krakow, but just as cold 
      As for the trench, we are leaving that for the spring as we don’t have electricity yet and we’re not likely to until March, so we will be setting up a temporary outlet once the pump arrives and use the generator if we need more water than the old well can provide. We do have three 1000 litre (250 gallon) tanks collecting rain (snow water) although we have had to drain these due to cold weather!
      All good fun

      1. Ok, but tell me how to pronounce it. When my wife complains about the cold here, I want to be able to say, but it’s 23 (your -7 C) in Rzeszow. It won’t sound too smart if I can’t pronounce it. 🙂

        Sounds like you are living with your in-laws. Our daughter and son-in-law stayed with us between jobs for a few months. It was great. They are smart…tech savvy. I was reading up on beekeeping…kept motoring on about it. I think that’s why my daughter set me up with the bee blog. They are quiet people who like to read in the evenings. It worked.

      1. I’m happy for you. The wife and I have been on pins and needles hoping those well drillers would come through…looks like they did ‘well.’

  2. I have that ‘special duty’ every week or so. The buckets have to be carried down a flight of stairs ‘lids tightly secured,’ out to the compost area about 40 meters away and dumped. I know ALL about it. And yet I like it. I can’t tell you how many years we searched for a good source of animal manure fairly close to home and here we are ‘sitting’ on one. No fossil fuel needed to get it.
    Looking forward to reading about it.

Leave a Reply

