To coppice or not to coppice, that is the question

One of our hopes for the future is to be self-sufficient in wood as a fuel for our heating and some of our cooking, I would say all of our cooking but I don’t think it will be practical or realistic  to cook on the wood burning piec in the height of summer; 35ºC is not uncommon in July, August and September and the extra heat might just push us over the edge!

So back in  the spring of 2011 we purchased our first necessity (toy for me) for our future smallholding, a chainsaw; believe me Gosia is hard to convince when it comes to spending money so I had to have a solid argument ready before the go ahead was granted, but it was an easy sell with the above argument for self sufficiency laid of the table. Oddly enough once the novelty wore off and the initial felling of some of the larger diseased fruit trees was done I went back to using a bow saw, or even a pruning saw to thin out the woodland that we have; the chainsaw only comes out when really necessary.

As an experiment I decided to cut a section of trees down, not the really young trees, but ones I guessed to be five or six years old; about 3-4 inches (7-10 cm) in diameter., to see if they would send out shoots. The majority were silver birch, which I had read would coppice if they were under ten years old or hadn’t started to send out seed; there were also a few willow the odd oak and a few unknowns; and then I forgot all about them. So when I noticed new growth on the tree stumps that remained after I cleared a path for the new electricity cable trench, I was reminded that I must check on the previous years experiment.

 As you will see by the pictures we have had a degree of success with this birch and neighbouring willow; in fact as I inspected the area that I cut it would seem that about 30 % of the birch has coppiced well and sent out multiple shoots all of which are almost 6 feet high (close to 2 meters) All of the willow seems to have done what it is renowned for and exceed the growth of the birch by a foot or more, even the oaks have sent out shoots, although as would be expected the growth is a lot slower at about 2 feet (60cm). A great success?

Thinking that this was proof that we could have a sustainable source of wood in the future I thought I better turn to the internet for more advice of coppice management and from what I have read so far it may well be a false economy to coppice as the space requirements for a coppice to perform well may well be better allocated to many individual trees! I will of course continue to read  and may well report back once I’m convinced either way. Any advice happily received 🙂

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

5 thoughts on “To coppice or not to coppice, that is the question”

  1. Hallo Eddy, I’m enjoying reading all your posts. This one about coppicing I think I can help you with. I have a pdf file in my IBooks which can probably be found at http://www.christopherlong.co.uk/oth/hedges.html. If you cannot get it I will mail you the pdf file if you would give me your e-mail address please. What Christopher Long writes seems very aware and complete. Good Luck to you and keep writing please.

    1. Good morning! What a wonderful surprise to see so many likes and comments reported in a couple of emails from WordPress, even more so to then read them. Thank you for taking the time to read so much of my blog. I popped into your blog the other day and I’m ashamed to say I only read one post!
      Thanks for the link, it looks like interesting reading and it is added to my reading list, I’ll let you know if I have problems downloading it.

  2. Hi, really interesting blog, which I found when you liked one of the pages of my relatively new blog, so thanks. Keen to see how your projects go – certainly some parallels between some activities I get involved in here and your efforts. I am aiming to grow and coppice S. viminalis here in North Uist, wind and deer permitting. It will be on a small scale, but a worthwhile experiement, I hope! Tracey.

    1. Hi Tracey
      Thanks for the likes and follow, as a new blogger it means a lot to me, I’m looking forward to reading more on your own blog, I like your ethos, although some of the recipes are beyond me 🙂
      I hope the coppicing goes well, the more I read about the subject the more convinced I am that it is the way to go; if only because it provides a better environment for a wider range of insects and wildlife.
      We also have a big deer problem, not to mention wild boar, but thankfully no rabbits.

      1. Thanks, likewise! Having faced wild boar while working in oak woodland in Hungary (and saw the mess the wallows make) you do have big issues! We have two stags visiting every night at the moment, but planned deer fence, although a lot of work, will do the trick to keep them out. The good thing about the Outer Hebrides is low mammal diversity – no foxes, badgers or moles to contend with. Coppicing will be great for insects!

Leave a Reply

