Teabags, Marmite and mustard

The three things that any food wholesaler should be importing into Poland, because try as I might I can’t find them, not even in Tesco; I’d like to make it clear that Tesco was a last resort as I hold them and many other supermarkets responsible for the demise of country life and community, so I avoid them whenever possible (I’m sure I’ll post about it one day).

So it comes down to three things, three things that I crave and need in order to make a life in Poland, and if I ever found myself on that famous Radio 4 island and had to narrow it down to just one, it would be teabags; English teabags, strong teabags, teabags that turn the water a mahogany colour, not some insipid dishwater shade of grey. I think it’s a conspiracy by the Scottish company of Lipton not to make a proper English teabag as their brand dominates much of Europe, depriving me, an Englishman; nay a Yorkshireman, of a decent cup of tea!

But don’t worry, I came prepared, several visits over the years before our final migration readied me for the future and 1200 teabags, 5 jars of Marmite and an assortment of English mustards made the journey with us.

However if you are heading this way then spare me a thought and a little space in your suitcase and pop in a few spare teabags 🙂

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

9 thoughts on “Teabags, Marmite and mustard”

  1. Hallo again, I left England when I was 18 in those days England still had the civilised method of making tea using loose tea from a tea caddy using a short fat little tea caddy spoon. Three, approx of these for a decent pot of tea and I think I was taught how to prepare it properly at the age of four standing on a kitchen stool. I remember being frightened of the steam and having to press the switch with the word socket on it before the boiling water was poured into the teapot. My dad did that part but the instructions were very definite and never ever forgotten. Now England has gone completely barbaric and makes tea using daft little bags with tea dust……. One of my brothers even uses a tea dust bag in a cup and has even been known to microwave the ensuing substance……. I am 62 now and here in this household we still buy 1kg of loose lapsang tea leaves about every four weeks. Our market stall lady who sells us this tea says that the two of us, my husband and I, that is, drink more lapsang than the whole province of Groningen combined. I agree with you about the Colemans though and marmite. Nothing can beat English mustard on a meat buttie. Good night Eddy

    1. We ran out of English mustard over Christmas, a disaster as I was cooking one of our hams for the main meal. We wre saved at the last minute by a neighbour who said they had a tin of Colemans powder so I nipped round to liberate it, it made all the difference and was a real hit 🙂 I checked the date on the tin later on, July 2011! I think it improves as it matures 🙂

  2. with all respect but Polish mustards are way better than any English one, and in Polish shops you have so many different variations…hahahha.

  3. Despite my Southern ways, we also have Yorkshire Tea tea-bags, the hard water variety. I’m not a Marmite fan but I do like some mustard occasionally. It is interesting to think what I would miss most, if I ever moved from England. I like a ‘Fat Rascal’ cake at Taylor’s in York, but don’t get there often enough to miss it that much. I didn’t like pie and mash really, and I’m not bothered about fish and chips either. So, being English, what I would miss most, has to be a good Chinese meal! Keep the faith Eddy. Regards, Pete.

  4. Thart rite there lad .I must have English teabags P G tips or Yorkshire tea And i must have Engish mustard with beef,sausages and lver You will get plenty next August from the English contingent Uncle Cgharlie

Leave a Reply

