I’m going home :)

Now this may seem like a bit of an odd statement given that my country of birth and residence for more than 96 % of my life, so far, has been in the UK; maybe more surprising since I have especially enjoyed my time back in Yorkshire, the county of my birth, after a spell of more than 25 years away; ok I have visited on many occasions, but this last break was more of an extended stay than a holiday.

I have lived in Skipton, although not by my own doing, Leeds; my own choice, Scarborough; for adventure!; the Isle of White and Jersey. The latter, some people may not consider being part of the UK; but they spoke English, most of the time, and they had fish and chip shops!

Jersey played a big part in my life and I was able to scale the ladder from tuber engineer (potato picker), to business owner; more luck than judgment, or maybe  not; it’s a difficult reflection to make out. Non the less I ended up where I am with an optimistic view on life and having more than 30 jobs under my belt, I joke that ‘I’ve never been a milk man’ and if I were ever write a book about it that will be the title; although it’s more likely to be a blog post 🙂

So here I am, on my way home to Poland, and although it’s a cliché, home is where the heart is and I’m overwhelmed with my desire to get back to the next chapter of my life with the woman I love and have loved for the last seven years; I hope she reads this 🙂

Reading this back it sounds a bit soppy, but I’m happy to be driven by my emotion and as an eternal optimist I know it’s the right place be and Gosia is the right person to be with.

I have noticed that a few of my posts have become a little biographical, a trend that many blogs that I follow follow, is this a bad thing? I don’t know. One thing I do know is that the story of the rest of my life is just beginning and I wouldn’t want it any other way 🙂

4 days to go…….

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

24 thoughts on “I’m going home :)”

  1. Definitely would like to hear more about your jobs – where better to be a tuber engineer than Jersey? I’ve been so busy recently so I’m enjoying catching up with your latest posts!

  2. Let the building (and relationships) resume! I’d like to see some progress in getting you two in your warm, lit-up home by November. I want lots of pictures too of veggies and forage growing.
    I just looked at your weather…you’re headed into a nasty snow storm for the next 9 days. I guess you’ll be in a holding pattern for a while longer…:-( but at least you will have your sweetheart back.
    Pat

  3. Biographical is good – legacy and all that (and current interest) I’m having a great time researching my Yorkshire grandfather’s writings – we went to Ryedale because his descriptions had piqued our (my 😉 ) interes, and had a beautiful holiday!
    Keep it up!

    1. Thanks for checking in and the follow; will be heading over to read more of your once my journey is over; interesting subject and I look forward to reading more.

      1. Hehe, just realised that I read your comment incorrectly through a morning haze 🙂 I thought you said what are you waiting for, silly me.
        See you Tuesday, will call you over the weekend.

    1. Health and safety!
      They still wrap in newspaper in the village, but only after the sterile plain paper wrapping 🙂
      I have to admit I used a stock photo for this one as it was last minute to think of a featured image.

  4. You are right, home is where the heart is – I was so glad to get back here after only a month away, but it is especially hard living away from the one you love – I’ve had to do it so many times for work over the years. It doesn’t get easier. Love to hear more about you employment history – I’ve changed direction a few times too, but not x30, impressive! Jersey interests me too. I went there on a family holiday when I was 8 and loved it, still have vivid memories of sand castle building with my sister and the dichotomy of visiting a war museum where artefacts included horrific sandals made of metal, worn by Russian prisoners of war. Bizarre what stays with you! Look forward to further tales of Polish life – including a beaver update 😉 T
    ps tremendous fish and chips

    1. I wish the fish and chips were mine, but I have to admit to using a stock photo on this occasion 🙂
      I’m sure the story of my life will continue one day; it’s always in the back of my mind when I think what to post next; maybe something for the winter months 🙂
      Jersey’s history of the occupation has kept me entertained for hours as most of the tales I have heard were from the people who lived through it. I’m almost certain you went to the German Underground Hospital; a very spooky place.

  5. Eddy mate, biographical is not bad, is it? If so, I am in trouble. Jersey? I didn’t know about that. I have never been to the Channel Islands, so I admit to envy. England, but with better weather, and French ‘je ne sais quoi’. Lucky old Winko. Give my best to Gosia when you meet (like you will have time for that shit!). Eat her up, and realise that location is irrelevant, if your true love is there. Soppy? Never apologise for that. Heart is all, intellect is overrated. Cheers old bean. Pete.

    1. That would be Jersey bean 🙂 Well not quite, but I put quite a few years in.
      It’s a lovely place to visit, but I’m glad I left; in my time there the industry changed from agriculture to finance and it has changed the Island for the worse. I’m sure I will write about it one day.
      I’m enjoying your latest posts and will be heading over there now to finish reading the latest after a day out in Skipton 🙂

Leave a Reply

