A date for the diary

The composting toilet diary that is.

Before I forget, as is so easy to do, I emptied the toilet of do, so it’s done; Wednesday the 10th of April.

I know it’s a much loved feature of my blog so I wouldn’t want my record keeping to slip.

And just in case you’re wondering, as I know some of you are, you can leave the contents in the collection bucket for quite a long time; up to six months should be ok. Although why would you want to go away for so long?

Knowing that we have a few volunteers heading our way over the summer I think I may have to build an additional privy, something with better aesthetics, a refined design, a waterproof roof and with a door that locks, never mind closes!

I may even blog about the construction, but it’s going to double my workload having to keep two diaries 🙂

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

11 thoughts on “A date for the diary”

  1. Uh Eddy,
    I hope you’re planning to have a bathroom in the house where the composting toilet will be used. Your winter temps are…let’s just say you wouldn’t want to freeze anything off on your way to or from.
    (You might want to moderate this)

    1. Remember that hollowed out log 🙂 In fact we plan on four in the house! May seem extreme, but all rooms are en suite, plus a downstairs toilet, it soon adds up.
      Nothing fallen off yet, but then I keep migrating 🙂

      1. Are you going to advertise that (Your very own Compost Toilet) in your Bed and Breakfast brochure? 🙂

  2. Just wondering what kind of sawdust you’re using? That makes a difference in how hot it gets. Here’s a tip..if you mow grass, keep the clippings. They heat up real well.

    1. Hi Pat, we use sawdust (from a cousins wood mill) in the toilet and straw as a cover material on the pile; I often worry that the sawdust doesn’t break down fast enough, I’ll know for sure when I open up our first pile later this month 🙂 I’ll try some grass next time we cut, cheers.

Leave a Reply

