Dam busters and builders

One of the first things I did on my return to Poland was take Jackie for a walk and check out the beavers, or should I say the beaver evidence; having never seen one yet.

Beaver Avenue, as I like to think of it, has been cleared by man and chainsaw and little of the autumns industry remains; just lots of flattened stumps.

DSC06370

Further afield, where I first reported on the beaver activity last year, only a few sticks remain to suggest these large rodents had worked so hard last year; Man 2 Beavers 0.

But then today, taking a different approach to the most prolific tree felling area that I have come across yet, I started to see the evidence of a building project. First of all I noticed that one of the irrigation ditches had started to dry up, whilst those around seemed to have a good level of water, so following the ditch  for another five hundred meters I discovered the blockage; a well formed damn and close by, the possible remains of a lodge.

From what I have read most beaver activity goes on in the autumn in preparation for winter; the summer months are spent roving, so I’m wondering is this is a new or old structure? I had never noticed it before even though I have walked this path a few times.

As you can see the water is backing up nicely and if the dam was any higher then the surrounding fields would be water logged; clever beaver engineering or just coincidence that the height is set as it is?

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

6 thoughts on “Dam busters and builders”

  1. I have to start somewhere to catch up on your blog. I really don’t think I have to go in order. I am glad to see you have so many followers reading your interesting experiences.
    You really have a gift for…. I don’t know … perhaps explaining in such a clear simple (not Simon Simple) way. We .. at least I felt as I looked at the pictures that I was out there in the beaver muck. 😦

    1. Great to see you back, please read in whatever order you wish 🙂 As ever you are too kind to me in your words, but they keep me going, thank you 🙂

  2. I can’t deny a fondness for beavers. Although I am unlikely to ever live anywhere that they ‘operate’, they do seem to be fascinating creatures. Shame that they lost that habitat though. Cheers Eddy, regards as ever, Pete.

    1. They may have lost it, but they are getting it back; they don’t seem to be fazed by the chainsaw and simply move on felling even more trees on the way. The government pay compensation to anyone who losses trees to the beavers; it’s not ideal but at least it takes a bit of the hurt out of losing your plantation:)

Leave a Reply

