Completing the cycle

Yes it’s that time again, time to add to the heated heap of nutritious goodness that is our humanure pile. Truth be told this is a late entry as the deed was done on Wednesday the 1st of May after our daily schedule was completed, but as you may have noticed my posts are centred around the weekend at the moment when we allow ourselves time to relax on Saturday night and Sunday back in Rzemien.

But a diary date is a diary date and I will endeavor to keep my promise to myself to keep a composting toilet diary, especially as we are now using the first of the compost for planting. Left to mature for 18 months we have around three wheel barrows full of sweet smelling, light and crumbly humanure; sorry to any of you fecophobics out there, but this really is top class compost and to try and prove the point further I hope to run an experiment with a batch of tomatoes plants when they are ready to go out; a control group planted up normally and a second batch with humanure incorporated in the soil; so watch this space πŸ™‚

Would you use humanure if it was available to you? And for those of you who do, do you use it on food crops or just flowers and trees?

Humanure
High quailty organic nutriants: Humanure
Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

10 thoughts on “Completing the cycle”

  1. Food crops bought from unknown locations are possibly fed with some form of animal manure that may indeed have medicines or antibiotics in their chain. If you know your own stuff and it has gone down to the sort of compost in your photo….. Then it’s only in your own mind that baulks you isn’t it? Eddy do you know the plant Comfrey? When you do the test with the tomatoes you might like to try a third tom test where you feed one of the test sites lots of cut up comfrey leaves…. You might learn to love this plant……

    1. It’s funny, my mother in-law thought the compost was fantastic and took home a couple of sacks, I didn’t tell her how it was made πŸ™‚
      I had three comfrey plants, but only two survived and I’m waiting until I have some good strong growth before I divide later this year. I have high hopes for the future. If I can grow enough of it then it’s also good as an animal feed πŸ™‚ I am a big user of nettles as a feed, mulch and pesticide and they also work well as a compost activator…..they share lots of properties with comfrey and are more available to me at the moment πŸ™‚

  2. We use it on our fruit trees, flowers, and tomatoes. We’re not quite ready to use it on root crops or greens. I’m not sure if it’s the sawdust we’re using or what, but the temps don’t get up in the high ranges, so even though we wait two full years, we want to err on the side of caution.
    I’m glad to see other people are ‘into it.’ (not literally) Who knows, you might be starting a ‘movement.’ πŸ™‚

    1. πŸ™‚ We had a similar problem with the heat but it seemed to be resolved by adding our other compost waste at the same time as the human waste. I have read that you should use slightly rotted sawdust so I now leave a pile of it outside to decompose a little. Happy composting πŸ™‚

  3. We will use our humanure. I feel ok with that, I know what we eat and we do not take any medicines, antibiotics etc. So for me its no problem. For now, our new dog keeps us very busy and she is super helpful in the garden… Cheers from north Poland, Ola, John and Maya

    1. I saw your post about Maya, she looks lovely. We are looking to get a second dog soon, we had a stray visit recently but she didn’t stick around 😦 So off to the shelter soon:) Take care in the north, hope the weather is as good as it is in the south πŸ™‚

  4. We used our humanure for the first time this year. I considered a test such as what you are doing with your tomatoes, but I haven’t dine it yet. My wife was afraid to use it on the veggies at first (too many fecophobe websites for her to read!) but I insisted. She couldn’t deny the awesomeness of the sweet, rich dirt I stuck in her face though! πŸ™‚

    I can’t wait to see how those tests go!

  5. Who would have ever thought that the day would come where I would eagerly anticipate a humanure update? Good luck with those tomatoes Eddy. Hmm…tasty.
    Cheers mate, Pete.

Leave a Reply

