Straw bale on the BBC

It’s always good to see any news on straw bale building, but it’s normally resigned to the likes of Grand Designs or YouTube channels, so when I first heard the report on Radio 4 and then read further on the BBC website about a couple of straw bale houses going up for sale in Bristol (UK) I just had to read more and spread the news. http://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-31156579

Now I know that there are a lot of enthusiasts and traditionalists out there that may ridicule the construction methods and declare that this isn’t really a straw bale house, but I would argue that this is indeed the future f straw bale.

If straw bale is ever going to become mainstream then it has to adopt to modern techniques and technology, rather than trying to adapt old methods to meet todays exacting standards.

Of course I would never even consider building a house based on this new modular and factory fabricated methodology, but then I’m an enthusiast not a builder and I like curvy walls 🙂 I like the aesthetics and the fact that our timber frame and infill method was very accessible for someone with no building experience to tackle. For the brave you could even try the Nebraska load bearing method, but for us the additional skills, uncertainty  and possible problems with planning were things that we decided to avoid.

The point is that the new technique still ticks most of the boxes that people who decide on straw bale say they ticked when asked why they decided on this method of build. It’s environmentally friendly in the materials it uses in comparison to the other modern building systems. The high insulation properties mean that the running costs leave a small carbon foot print over a long period of time and it creates a healthy living environment free of harmful toxins that may otherwise exist in synthetic buildings.

It’s just not curvy!

It may not be as accessible to people who want to self build on a budget, stick to the niche books and websites like this, but it is most definitely the future of straw bale and for that I’m happy to shout about it.

All that remains to be done is to invent a usable composting toilet system that people are happy to use 🙂

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

9 thoughts on “Straw bale on the BBC”

  1. I’m sitting in a straw bale building writing this. We also have a (gently crumbling) rammed earth wall, sedum roof (replaced after the first one blew off) and plastic seperator toilets. It’s the warmest office I’ve ever worked in and I’d recommend starw bales to anyone.

    1. Good to know it’s getting about, hopefully. as it’s an EU sponsored experiment, it has the potential to spread throughout Europe. Their website has examples in Italy, France and Germany if I remember correctly.

    1. I hope I don’t disappoint 🙂
      Thank you for the link. It’s thanks to some of the progressive States in the US that straw bale is as wide spread and as advanced as it is. It’s interesting to read the regulations, thank you. And I now know where the Mojave desert is 🙂

  2. Winkoloo… I love it! Good point on the future of bale building, Eddy. I am an enthusiast as you are, but I realize the average home builder is not so enthusiastic as I! I, like you said, would not want to use a modular prefab method, but if it eases the ecological impact of conventional construction, I’m a supporter.

    1. I have to say I like the approach some States in the US have taken, but with all the regulations in the EU this looks like it may be the way forward, especially as it was sponsored by the European Union in the first place 🙂
      Coming to a blog near you soon, Winkoloo!

Leave a Reply

