Off with the Tilly on with the woolly

I received an email last week congratulating me on my anniversary, I immediately went into a panic thinking that I had missed our wedding anniversary as I knows it’s around this time of year, but further reading revealed that it is in fact four years since I started this blog!

Mind you having only posted about 150 entries in those four years I’m far from a hard core blogger, or even a regular blogger, I just blog occasionally when time allows and today is such an occasion. (I started this over a week ago)

I wont do my usual catch up post, as there would be too much to say and I would never post it, something that happens all too often by the looks of my drafts folder. Instead I thought I would report on the weather, a favourite subject of many and something that has more significance to me now than it ever has with the wide variety of crops in the ground, on bushes and trees, not to mention the wild foraging that is available at the moment.

With a mild winter, a reasonable warm start to the year, some very high temperatures during the summer, punctuated by some impressive storms and what would probably be described as average rainfall, nothing has stood out until now (about 2 weeks ago) when after a prolonged heat wave with temperatures close to 30c ( 86f) the temperature suddenly dropped and a much colder front has settled over us. My faithful Tilly hat (one of my all time favourite second hand shop purchases) was hung up and replaced my one of the many woolly hats that Gosia has crocheted for me. Gloria the bougainvillea had to be brought inside to protect her against the cold nights along with our nameless yucca and potted lemon tree. The latter has developed fruits for the first time after a long summer outside and I’m hoping they develop over winter in the house. G&T anyone?

Since then the days have remained sunny, 20c (68f) is the new high, and the nights have progressively got colder touching 3c (37f) last night, although looking at the forecast this is due to rise again in the next few days. Perfect in my eyes as working outside is more bearable and the mornings are crisp enough to wake you up an get you moving a bit faster to warm up.

It also means that the walnuts are starting to fall, the mushrooms are rising and the apples are sweet off the trees, and the piec can be lit to start making jams from the fruit collected in the summer, patiently waiting in the freezer for this moment, which in turn frees up space for our pigs!

In writing this I have come to realise that I’m actually looking forward to winter, whilst they seem to be getting milder in Poland they still offer a true contrast to the hot summers. It also moves our work indoors,  and with much to do inside ‘snagging’ and Gosia trying to stockpile some soaps and crocheted creations for the Christmas market we need this time.

Update: I started this post a couple of weeks ago, then forgot about it (kind of), but as we have just had our last warm day for a while with another cold and wet front on the way it seemed appropriate again.

And now for the obligatory picture of Michalina to boost my post ratings! My translator in the making, at just over two and a half she switches between Polish and English without  missing a beat and knows how to say sorry with her eyes when she is caught out with mummies lipstick! How could you get mad?

20160921_094206 1

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

14 thoughts on “Off with the Tilly on with the woolly”

  1. When I now look outside the window and see again rain falling the third day in row it seems not true that the last weekend was so beautifully sunny, let alone long hot sunny summer we had… But, it’s really good time to blog a bit, you made perfect use of it. Wish you, Gosia and Malina (pity, we hadn’t opportunity to meet her) all the best, hoping for dryer days with some mushrooms to find.

    1. Indeed, hard to believe the change in the weather, hopefully the rain will stop tomorrow and hopefully the wind, the cold I don’t mind so much.
      Best wishes to you both and hopefully you will get to meet Malina next time you visit 🙂

  2. I’m in awe of that fireplace/cookstove/piec wonderful thing! The thought of having all that fresh food growing all around you makes me smile (and makes me a little envious too, lol). Thanks for the update, with the cutie kiddo in full makeup 🙂

    1. I felt cold when I looked back on those pictures of the pic been built, late October 2012 was quite a bitter month. When we light it now it stays warm for 24 hours after we let it die down.
      Food a plenty at the moment and a freezer and larder full to get us through the winter 🙂
      Thankfully Gosia makeup selection is minimal, otherwise who knows how it could have turned out!

  3. Hey, Eddie and Gosia,
    Hard to find online time while we’re getting in the crops, isn’t it! I’ve got squash, corn, and potatoes to get in, just to name a few —
    I had to indulge my curiosity and look up Tilley hat — like the civilized alternative to the stetson, I think —
    pax
    Beth

    1. I’m hoping that I might get a bit more time on the blog soon, but then I have said that many times before. Good luck getting the crops in, we seem to be ahead of you this year.
      I love my Tilly hat, not only did it only cost me less than a £1 ($1.20) for what is a £50 ($60) hat, the most entertaining note was still inside the waterproof pocket on the inside of the hat. Apparently when you buy a Tilly it is insured for life, so if you ever loose it they will replace it free of charge, this has led to a collection of stories from customers who have lost their hats, including the zoo keeper who’s hat was eaten by elephants, not once, but three times! Apparently he was able to recover it ‘later’ on the first two occasions.
      All the best.
      Eddy

  4. Great to see a post from you after our ‘conversation’ on mine. Sounds as though your Polish summer was similar to that in Romania for the six weeks we were there. Delighted to hear about the little one’s languages; so many Romanians here (including our next door neighbour) don’t bring their offspring up to be bilingual which – so easy for them now – will cause them a big problem later should they wish to learn their ‘other language’. If we manage to make the move a ‘piec’ – ‘soba’ in Romanian – will be a must.

    1. The thing is we don’t’ even teach Malina both languages, she does what any child would do and mimics her parents and as I’m a typically lazy English person I only speak English! With a little bit of encouragement she has developed her language very fast.
      The piec is a must, I’m going to check out pictures of sobas now, it’s good to look at the subtle changes that different nations have made. Cheers!

  5. So far away, yet such similar weather. I am hoping this doesn’t mean we will get your heavy fall of snow this year though!
    The Winkette looks as cute as a button. Her language skills remind me of my friend’s son. My mate is married to a Turkish lady, and his boy could switch languages in one sentence, and still make total sense of both conversations!
    Love to all three as always, Pete.

  6. Here in sunny Southern Nevada, the weather has finally attained perfection after a very hot summer. I love walnuts, and years ago, we used to go to a grove of walnut trees and simply collection the walnuts that had fallen from the trees. I then would shell them and sprinkle them on ice cream.

    1. Whilst I like the sunshine I’m not sure I could deal with it all year round, I like jumpers too much 🙂 I make my own muesli on occasion and always crack a good few walnuts into the mix.
      Thanks for commenting David, I think I have a limerick or two to catch up on on your page.

  7. Nice update. excellent application of make-up. Coincidentally, I’ve been eating a lot of walnuts . . . but I buy them shelled and halved and conveniently bagged.

    We do enjoy the farmer’s markets near us; we get to enjoy locally grown fresh produce with little work beyond driving to them.

    Wishing you a mild and productive winter.

    1. I understand that walnuts are very healthy, even if you but them in the shop! Collecting them in the morning is quite a pleasant job after I have fed the animals, although shelling can be a bit of a bore beyond the first ten or so, you have to get in the zone.
      Locally grown and fresh is where it is at, and good to know that you have them available to you in your new home town. All the best.

Leave a Reply

