Weddings, wellies and a whole lot of snow

I had to check the historical weather data to see when we last had temperatures above freezing, believing that it was sometime back in November, but of course it’s not as bad as I thought, we have had nineteen days above freezing since December the 1st 2016, although only two nights!

Suffice to say that pretty much all of the snow, and we have had a lot, has remained on the ground and the many layers are now apparent in the snow walls that line some of the roads around here. Each pass of the snow plough leaving another couple of inches of historical snow data for passing geologists.

 

20170120_111416
The end of the road, only half a mile to the house

I can’t say that I mind it too much, it causes a little inconvenience with the extra work involved when trying to do anything, but you get used to the cold very quickly and after a few nights dropping to –25C\-13F with days reaching a little over –18C\0F, a day just below freezing is positively balmy. Just as long as the wind doesn’t blow, then the best advice is to stay indoors.

Not the best time of year to have a wedding you would think, but then this is Poland and it was family getting married, so we dragged ourselves through snow drifts to get to the van, suite and tie, not forgetting the wellies, we pushed the literal meaning of suited and booted to the limit! I have to say it was a fantastic wedding, without doubt the Polish know how to celebrate, and dance and sing. Its not often you have a room of one hundred and sixty people all signing the same song accompanied by a bloke with a squeeze box. Not just one song either, a whole medley that lasted a good half hour, young and old everyone joined in, except for the token Englishman sitting in the corner. The party went on for three days, although (I’m relieved to say) we only managed one, we (I’m) are not getting any younger…and the goats need feeding!

And no post is complete now without saying something about Gosias soaps and todays message is…. Thank You to all of you who have purchased and sent such positive feedback about the soaps, we really appreciate your support and look forward to cleaning you again soon 🙂

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

21 thoughts on “Weddings, wellies and a whole lot of snow”

    1. I feel old enough for her to be my granddaughter, but that’s only as a result of the last three years looking after her!
      I have leant more about the geography of the US in the last 6 months selling soaps then I have in my life so far. My mental note will now match Massachusetts with Newcastle in the UK…it also reminds me of a joke about the Bee Gees, but I wont go there 🙂

  1. Temps in the minus digits, I can’t imagine. It does take a bit extra to get things done in snow, but you are right, you get used to it very quickly. Enjoy your frozen homestead….I’m already missing mine!! One great thing about snow….no muddy paws to clean!!

  2. We have a lot of snow on the mountains here in Las Vegas, especially in the Sheep Range to the north and Spring Mountains to the west. All we’ve received in the valley is rain, though the sun has been shining the past two days (finally!). Yesterday, we walked around Lake Las Vegas (where Céline Dion lives). The golfers were out in force…

    1. Growing up in North Yorkshire I too have memories of snow, although spending much of my adult life in Jersey they are very distant memories! In a way I quite like the distinct seasons here, the cycle seems complete and I’m sure it goes a long way to keeping the land healthy. In saying all that it is quite a hard winter this year, the general consensus is that it is getting milder every year here.

      1. I came from the West Riding of Yorkshire, we had snow for 2-3 months at a time in winter when I was a kid. North Yorkshire still gets a share of snow, but not so much these days, and up here in the North East we have only had 2 days of snow in 6 years!

  3. As you mentioned soaps, just to say not only have I now converted to Gosia’s soap for everything, including shave, shampoo and shower, but Petronela decided belatedly to try and her immediate reaction was “Can we get more?” I still have a small store from my previous order but will be ordering again in good time not to run out. Can’t handle such weddings any more!

  4. We love the soaps. We like to give unexpected gifts, and handcrafted soaps from Poland are special. Many thanks to Gosia for all the extra work in making soap that is free of palm oil.

    1. Thank you Pat! I’m just about to email you about your latest order which will be posted today, we have added Honey and Oatmeal to the palm oil free list of soaps, we hope you like it.

  5. This makes our weather seem like a late summer, Eddy.
    Glad you had a great time at that traditional wedding. I can imagine the Vodka flowing…Yum!
    Happy to promote the soaps from my end. They are great, and well-worth the money too.
    Gosia has done very well there. Nice to see the Winkette enjoying the winter. She’s a little love.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    1. I started the post a bout two weeks ago, although the only thing that has changed is that we have had more snow!
      There was an allowance of two bottles of vodka per person (75cl) and it starts pretty much the same time as lunch, but the food is as constant as the drink, so everyone stays with it, it really is an experience.
      Now I have cleared my draft folder I can think of a guest post 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

