OCDT

As someone who has tried to leave the news behind and even stated that I have no real interest in the news as a rule as it leads to depression and pessimism, I loath to admit that I have started to show symptoms of TOCD

Trump Obsessive compulsive Disorder, or OCDT…it sounds better!

Initially I became worried about the latest President of the United States and signed every online petition I could find that posed even the slightest opposition to him. I then started to comment on blogs, whos authors expressed worry and doubt about the new man at the top, adding my voice of support. Interestingly enough not one of the blogs that I follow or indeed anyone that I have email contact with in the US supports the new administration (at least publicly)

This man has to be stopped, I told myself, he has the potential to push buttons and I’m not talking about the ones on his keypad as he rants tweets. CNN, ABC, NYT, AP, NBC and of course the BBC became my new obsession, I even started to read his tweets in search for what? To be honest I have no idea!

It’s taken me a while but I am slowly beginning to realise that whilst it is good to protest its not good to be obsessed. So instead I have decided to laugh at the man and his madness, he is, after all, the comics dream, comedy gold as they say. I even watched Saturday Night Live to see the American take on the Pres and was reassured that if you can still take the piss of your government and the people in it as much as they are doing then its not as bad as it could be. I don’t know, but I doubt that they have similar programs in Russia about Putin? Memories of Spitting Image come flooding back!

I won’t go on, it’s off my chest, but I will end this post with one final word from the Collins English Dictionary which sums the man up in my mind:

Trump

(intransitive) British slang

to expel intestinal gas through the anus

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

38 thoughts on “OCDT”

  1. Of course the real question is why millions of people feel so disconnected from society and political process that they feel they have to elect a Donald as a leader. My children think the news is now an extension of the Simpsons, which is on before. After all the colour is nearly the same and the script is about the same level😊

  2. When Trump was running for President, I kept waiting for the press to carve him up into little pieces over all his lies, but it never happened. I kept telling my wife, he will NEVER get far enough along to become the nominee. Then he became the nominee. “Well, he’ll never be president.” Then he became president. When does this nightmare end? He’s a national embarrassment.
    Now the authorities are finding out about the Flynn scandal. Did he lie about his involvement with Russia before the election? Maybe THIS time he won’t get away with it…but how many times have I said that. Groan.

  3. I wanted to comment but I don’t even know where to start, it is all so depressing and unbelievable! Every day, it’s another ridiculous and highly embarrasing thing coming out of trump’s mouth or more like his a–!!
    He is sending this country back 50 years, if not further! Ugh!
    On a lighter note…so glad your sun is shining and temps are rising! There are some good things to be thank-ful for, right? 🙂

    1. He is quite a challenge for normal thinking people! I was half expecting to get some negative comments from Trump supporters, but their absence speaks volumes I think.
      The sun is shining again today so you are more than welcome to some of it, plenty to go round 🙂

  4. You started something there, fellow tyke! I wish I could joke about him but I cannnot; to have him in a position of such power is just really scarey. Here, tv news is so depressing that after watching the 6pm tv news over our evening meal since we returned to the UK in 2004, we stopped after the New Year as it was ruining our meal. It’s wasn’t just Trump, but the bull coming from the majority of politicians almost everywhere, seeing children in so many places starving, blasted out existence or irrepairably damaged while politicians everywhere just blabbed, though not seeing that ridiculous hair was a factor! I don’t know anything about the politics in Poland but here and, eg, in France, Germany, Italy and, of course the USA, the electorate has been left in a situation where it cannot vote FOR anyone, just to vote for the least bad, and that means a lot of people will just not vote. The saving grace for US citizens is that the majority of them who voted did not vote for Trump; what they need to do now is change their voting system so at least their President is the person for whom the majority voted, if they are still there to vote at all after the next four years. As for smoking, P is sure someone with a smoking gun will take the joker out; I just hope it’s not a Muslim. Sorry to use your blog for my rant.

    1. Rant away, believe me when I say that I could have posted a couple thousand wards and still not cover how I feel about the world and it’s politics. I can see a silver lining in the US as they have elections again in two years for the House of Representatives (I think) and this should change the political makeup and hopefully see Trump removed by his own party. But then I am a optimist!
      Poland is now run by a populist right wing party who are slowly eroding free speech, use the national TV station for its own propaganda and seem to be at odds with the EU. Sadly there doesn’t seem to be an effective opposition so who knows how long it will last.
      Mind you, the sun is shining and the weather forecast shows temperatures above freezing next week so the snow may finally leave us, it’ not all bad 🙂

  5. Laughter is the best weapon sometimes. I definitely am also a news-avoider, and even that can’t keep me from a shudder at who is presiding over the US. Oh Bernie, we were robbed by Clinton and the news media.

  6. You bring up a good point, as none of my friends seem to be supporters either. Not a huge surprise I suppose, but still – WHO did all the voting?

  7. I honestly cannot take him seriously, because of that hair. Anyone who can live with hair like that must be very strange, to say the least. However, I refuse to be over-worried about him. He is a child at heart, and will eventually be told off by those really in power, as all naughty children are.
    “Keep calm, and use a humanure toilet”. That’s my advice, Eduardo!
    Cheers mate, Pete.
    (PS email sent tonight.)

      1. I’m trying to give up with the help of the vape recommended by BeetleyPete but I’m not off entirely and I’ve noticed an increase in my real cig consumption since Trumpet took office. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

Leave a Reply

