A morning walk

More pictures than words for a change, you will be pleased to know!

The pictures are from a couple of weeks ago when we experienced a spell of exceptionally good weather for the time of year. A change in schedule and tasks for the morning sent me on a route down to the stable, barn and beyond the orchard. There are no real paths, I make it up asΒ I go along, often guided by the dogs and where they want to go next and this is where they took me.

Click on the pics if you want a better view.

DSC00644DSC00645

After dropping a fresh bucket of water off to the goats we walk through the orchard and look back at the barn. The patch on the left was cleared by the pigs last year and I have just planted 120 raspberry plants. Recently chopped branches sit on the blue tarpaulin to dry out a bit and also to stop them becoming overgrown and entangled with grass.

DSC00646DSC00649DSC00650DSC00651

Jackie leads the way down the small wooded valley about a 1/4 mile away, we drop down and back up the other side. Dennis takes a breather!

DSC00654DSC00655

Looking back its quite a climb and turning around we have quite a bit ahead, towards the rising sun.

DSC00656DSC00658

Reaching a farmers track we have the option to head back towards the house, but instead we carry on away to the right and look down into the village below.

DSC00659

We walk on for a mile or so, over barren fields, when the sky is this clear you just know its going to be a good day.

DSC00660DSC00661

As we reach the old council road the dogs decide it’s time to head home, or at least look to me for guidance. Zara decides to join us after looking for pheasants, or chasing deer.

DSC00668.DSC00669

We reach the ridge line and look back the way we have just walked and then turn towards to house, not long now before i get my brew πŸ™‚

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

42 thoughts on “A morning walk”

  1. The raspberries got me to thinking. I pull the spent blackberries out of a wine mix (they are in a fermentation bag). Then I dry the spent berries. Later when I have a cordial to make, I add some dried spent berries to the spirits and let it sit. One can watch the color change and the result is a very dry blackberry flavored vodka or the like. If you want a liqueur, simply add a bit of inverted sugar water. When my raspberry crop finally starts to produce I will do this when I make raspberry wine.
    The pictures are delightful. Thank you for sharing.
    Warmest regards, Ed

    1. A nice idea Ed, thank you. I will add wine to out list of brews for this year, although my attempts in the past were not too good and then turned to bimber (moonshine) We have bimber maker in the family who commandeered equipment I bought about five years ago, as a result we now get an endless free supply of ‘strong’ spirit which is then added to the various fruit we have along with a quantity of sugar which then sits for a period of time before bottling. We have to be careful we don’t give the spent fruit to the pigs!
      We also have a clever contraption, a bit like a doble boiler, that we add fruit to and it dispenses cordial after heating.
      And then of course there are the compotes… in this life of self sufficiency we have drinking covered πŸ™‚

  2. Great spot Eddy. I for one am not glad to see fewer words – I always look forward to your posts – but it’s great to see the pix. Hopefully off to The Lakes in Lofty the camper tomorrow for three days as it’s half term; it is probably our last trip of anything over a few miles as he’ll be up for sale – a bit too heavy for me now. There’ll be tears; he’s like a member of the family (daft I know).

    1. It will be a sad day indeed to see Lofty go, but I can’t think of a better place to go for a farewell trip. The Lakes have a special place in my heart. Enjoy your trip.

  3. Eddy, I very much enjoyed the photos. It really is a lovely countryside. It’s great to live in a region where you can take walks in nature. Here in Southern Nevada, of course, we have open desert. Many people who live in large population centers don’t have easy access to anything but a city park, which is a shame.
    I would love to go on that with you and the dogs. Wonderful post, Eddy!

    1. Thank you David, I am reminded how lucky we are every time we go to a larger town or city, which thankfully isn’t too often. I’d like to experience the desert one day, I imagine I would quite like it, although I don’t know if I could make it my home.

    1. We had a few visitors in the winter who came to escape the fumes of the towns and cities where coal burning is still common for heating. And fumes are the first thing I notice whenever I venture too close to town, which isn’t often πŸ™‚

  4. Ah but you could build a dry stone wall and easily plunk down a few sheep here and there and then you would most certainly feel right at home! πŸ™‚ Beautiful countryside…thanks for taking us on a walking tour! One question…why did you build your house so far away from the barn? Or does it just look far away in the photos? In any case…a good way to get your exercise! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Chris. If only I could find the stone! I have a pile started that I collect whenever I find something that looks stone like, maybe one day I will build a surround for our well πŸ™‚ We kept sheep before, so maybe again, wool for felting!
      Its about 300m between barn and house and I probably do the journey at least half a dozen times a day, yesterday I did there and back seven times and it was a holiday! Good question, why so far away πŸ™‚

    1. At roughly Β£1 a kilo (2.2 Lbs) I doubt it, but who knows, they are a late fruiting variety so if the demand is there and the price is right. We will most definitely invite people to come and pick and exchange for things they may have and we make a lot of jams and juice\cordials\nalewka πŸ™‚

  5. In many respects, you could easily be in Beetley, instead of Poland. We share similar countryside, though you live somewhere not built up at all, whereas we live on an (admittedly very small) estate. Nice to see more of your ‘manor’ mate!
    Cheers, Pete.
    (Oh, and typo spotted. It is ‘barren’, not ‘baron’)

    1. Thanks Pete, it is very similar to my native Yorkshire, rolling hills and valleys, just no dry stone walls or sheep πŸ™‚ Which incidentally is what baron is in Polish (sheep) πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

