A recipe

I know its a little off subject, but then the more I look back over my posts the more I realise there is no real subject, although I’m sure my niche in straw bale building and composting toilets will come into it’s own as time passes and the sun begins to shine once again.

In the meantime, I thought I would share a little bit of the food heaven that I live in. I have eaten this cake on several occasions and recently put in a special request, so thanks to Gosia for humouring me and sharing her secrets; even though the recipe can be attributed to many famous chefs on the web, Gosias is the best one I’ve tasted 🙂

To keep it simple, for me, it’s a two bowl affair. A wet bowl and a dry bowl; so the first thing you need is two bowls.

For the first (wet) bowl you will need:

3 eggs, whites and yolks separated

200g sugar

300g cooked beetroot (about 3 medium sixed) Wizzed up in a blender

DSC05968

1 teaspoon vanilla extract or if you have pods go for it, use them now!

200ml olive oil (or veg oil)

DSC05988

At this point I should explain that all measurements are estimated and a deviation of 10 even 20% is allowed. Gosia didn’t say this, but I watched what was going on and reading the scales wasn’t one of them 🙂

So start with the eggs, separating the yolks from the whites, or the other way round, and add the sugar to the whites; get a mixer and spin them up until the sugar dissolves. DSC05973DSC05974DSC05975

Now add the yolks, beetroot, vanilla and oil; continue to mix

DSC05989DSC05979DSC05990DSC05991

I once had a shirt that colour, but not for long!

Moving swiftly on from my fashion mistakes, take your second (dry) bowl

Sieve and add the following

180g plain flour

50 g coco powder

2 teaspoons baking powder

pinch salt

Mix them up

DSC05980DSC05992

Add them to the wet bowl

Ok, so far so good, just give me a minute to check what happened next.

That’s it, remember not to mix them too much as this may make the cake ‘heavy’ although Gosia did also say that she doesn’t believe this; but then she didn’t mix it too much, so what do you believe?

Now for money saving tip number two, number one was to use the water from boiling the beetroot to make barszcz czerwony. but number two is to use old butter or margarine wrappers to line your baking tin.

DSC05983DSC05994

Then pour in your mixture, making sure lick your fingers clean of any that tries to escape, including that left in the bowl.

Throw it in the oven at 160-170°c for about an hour, maybe 50 minutes is it’s a good oven (check with a wooden skewer, it should be dry as you pull it out) , let it cool and eat

Crumbs

I might add some more pics tomorrow as we debate whether its better with cream or custard; we tried cream and it went down pretty well :), but I’d like to give custard a try, if there is any left.

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

4 thoughts on “A recipe”

Leave a Reply

