I don’t normally post news, but I was happy to see this on the BBC

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-22335520

I hope it’s not too late and I hope the rest of the world do the same; as one commentator said “at last an EU directive I agree with” πŸ™‚

Check out http://solarbeez.com// for some great bee enthusiasm and interesting links.

 

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

13 thoughts on “I don’t normally post news, but I was happy to see this on the BBC”

  1. I was glad to see this too, though the tv reports seemed to indicate that not all bee-keepers thought it was a good thing. For me, anything that gets rid of poisons being spread around the countryside is a good thing. I’ve always had a yen for keeping some bees; when I retire completely I might just do it. Interesting about the problems of taking honey and putting back sugar – all the beekeepers I’ve known (one of two – I used to help one when I lived in a small country village years ago) did it.
    This comment indicates that I am up to the end of April in my catchup! πŸ™‚ !

  2. Good news for our little friends. I know zip about bees, but my cousin has a lot of hives in Essex. She tells me that another issue is that of bee keepers taking too much stock, and replacing it with sugar solution to feed the bees. This does not contain all that they need, and usually get, from the honeycomb. So, they die, or breed less, and generally do not flourish.
    The pesticide ban will do no harm either! Cheers mate, Pete.

    1. beetleypete, you hit the nail on the head, or at least your cousin did. The bee keepers might be part of the problem. Even in my area there are beekeepers who take more honey than they should and unabashedly admit (even advise) others to feed their bees high fructose corn syrup to make up the difference. They make the ‘honey money’, then supply HFCS at pennies on the dollar to feed bees in winter. Total exploitation in my opinion.
      Here’s an article that just came out today, (April 30, 2013) explaining how important honey is to the bees to help them withstand the onslaught of pesticides and insecticides.
      http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/d-brief/2013/04/30/honey-may-be-bees-best-medicine-for-colony-collapse-disorder/
      By eating honey, which contains traces of pollen, the bees become less susceptible to the range of pesticides and pathogens they encounter on their pollinating exploits.
      Thanks go to Eddy for mentioning this important issue.

  3. That is big news, Eddy. That’s almost a David and Goliath thing. The little guys being beekeepers and people who are worried about the food supply and the big guys being the huge multinational corporations worried about profits. I say “Way to go, EU” now let the US follow your good example.

    1. After reading your blog and following some of your links I have become enlightened and was so happy to see this news πŸ™‚ Cheers Pat, lets hope the ban spreads far and wide.

      1. Ya know, I didn’t notice it right away. I’m flattered that you would use it. When I read the headline I couldn’t help but think you wrote it with me in mind. Thanks.

        Every time I look at this photo taken at 10pm the night before Bee Beard log hive swarmed, it reminds me of YOUR logo.

Leave a Reply

