A short compilation

I feel a bit guilty; I haven’t really posted anything recently, at least nothing that follows the loose blog theme that I have.

I have had a few ideas, I even have a few drafts which explore some of the journeys that I have taken since I took up temporary residence in Yorkshire, but I just can’t seem to put it together in my head or on paper; albeit electronic.

It’s strange, but I have read quite a few of my favourite blogs and it seems to be a common affliction, even if the reasons behind the doldrums may differ for other bloggers; I’m wondering what the underlying problem may be for me in particular?

I started writing this last night and never got any further, but after my journey to the shops this morning I managed to clear my head;  helped by the blizzard conditions, change the title and came up with a structure for this post.

First off is Sedbergh, I have family there and I planned to meet my other sister as she was holding a pointer day along with my aunty. Our family have been involved in the breeding of pointers for over 80 years, which explains why they were holding a pointer day, although I have a distinct lack of pictures of the event, or Sedbergh for that matter; but I did stop and admire the views on route.

It was a great day out, especially if you like pointers and I got to see one of my cousins for the first time in over twenty years and we made the most of our time, taking a walk around the surrounding counntryside and catching up, as the dedicated pointer people talked about pointer things 🙂

I pass by Ribblehead Viaduct every time I head over to Settle or Skipton for shopping or other such adventures! So I thought it only right to take a few pictures of this outstanding feat of engineering. The local myth is that the foundations are built upon wool, litrially; although after a little bit of research I discovered that the viaduct is built from the money from the woollen industry. I love the fact the it was built with a curve so that passengers of the train could admire the structure as the passed over it; the link above is worth a read, although there are many other references on the web for more information if you’re interested. I remember seeing the Flying Scotsman on the Settle to Carlisle line, which passes over the viaduct, as a child and placing a 2p coin of the track so that the train would run over it and I would have a memento of the event; I have no idea what happened to it, but I remember the moment! As you head on down the road you get to see the impressive Pen-y-ghent, which I scaled several times during my childhood.

As you may imagine, if you are aware of the weather in the UK at the moment, many of these roads are now impassable due to the heavy snow fall of the last few days; which scuppered a few of my plans, including my trip to Wigan to attend a Straw Bale workshop. I really sorry I missed it as it would have been a great opportunity to meet new people and learn a some new skills, but for the record check out www.wiganallotmentnetwork.org.uk ; a fantastic organisation with lots of community activities going on.

snowed in 23rd March 2013 (2)Road to Ribblehead

That was the condition of the roads, never mind the path through the fields down to the village.

Once I got to the shops they had run out of bread, amongst other things and a brief conversation soon revealed that they hadn’t received a delivery in two days! Just as well I have plenty of flour in 🙂

I just hope it clears for next weekend as I head off to Holland to see my beloved Gosia; I’m so looking forward to seeing her again after almost three months of separation. Thank you to Lady Sighs for providing the perfect words for how I feel.

Hoping your all safe and warm, I know I am now that I’m back from my trip to the shops 🙂

Author: Eddy Winko

Trying to leave the rat race and live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

16 thoughts on “A short compilation”

  1. A quickie – I’ve been struggling to write a post which I really want to do since last Thursday and the failure is not all to do with lack of time. I just can’t get it right, and I’m supposed to be a ‘writer’ so don’t worry about it. A far bigger problem is the people who post several times a day; I just don’t have the time to read them all so pick one based on the title – the rest are unopened – but I guess I more often than not open the ‘wrong’ one. When I have opened them all I’d say that only one, if that, was worth it. So, despite what WordPress says, I think it better to post when you feel you have something worthwhile to say and think you can say it well. The above post did just that.
    By the way, I also saw the Flying Scotsman on this line (not on the viaduct) and put a penny on the track. We’ve just (I hope) got some free tickets up to Carlisle in May – restitution for the awful service from Northern Rail for my wife’s daily commute. Should be great.

  2. Wow that’s a good snow! We haven’t had snows like we had when I was a kid for a while, it seems. A foot of snow would shut it down around here! We miss making snow men, building snow forts, and making snow ice cream. We are getting one of our characteristic wimpy snows right now actually. It’ll be a dusting, I’m sure. Stay warm and hang in there!

  3. Lovely for you to meet up with Julie after many years   She has often asked me how you are.We last saw her in November up at Sedbergh Will speak on Skype on Friday evening all being well 

    ________________________________

  4. Don’t worry about your blogging lull, your committed followers are there when you want to post. I’ve also gone for my longest spell without a post since I started my blog – I’ve felt a bit rudderless, difficult to pin down why, maybe the weather, too much travel and being ill, not sure what to write, too much/little to say. I’ve managed a few tweets, but feels a bit vacuous. Stick with it, enjoy seeing your beloved again, I’m staying with you – still one of my favourite blogs – I’m not all about food 🙂

    1. Thank you T, I appreciate your comments and hope you get well soon; it must have been the London air!
      Hope the weather hasn’t hit you too hard.
      I look forward to your next gastronomic adventure, once you find your course again 🙂
      Eddy

  5. Eddy mate, welcome to the lull! We are in the same club at the moment, both looking for answers,that are probably right under our noses. No doubt your forthcoming reunion with Gosia will put your life back on track; and after all, the blogging is an extra for all of us, not the real reason we carry on! In the meantime, your visit home must have stirred some emotions, and it has given you lots of things to write about, as well as being able to post a wealth of interesting photos.
    We all need a break from this relentless weather. This must be what it’s like to live in Northern Scandinavia. No wonder the suicide rate is so high, in the lands of the midnight sun!
    Regards as always. Pete.

    1. Cheers Pete, you are so right; seeing Gosia again will spur me on. I just hope I can get to the airport on Saturday! I tried to get out this morning but hit the snow about 20 miles out of the village; but I managed to make it to the paper shop so another day indoors reading ahead.

  6. You should not feel guilty at all for not posting for a bit. Some of us should feel guilty for posting almost daily and saying very little or nothing. 😦

    Your entries are so very interesting and informative. They are very personable in that the reader feels involved. I look at your references and know you have put them there for a reason. The extra information really helps your story. The pictures you do put follow your story so well. I feel like I was riding along beside you. 🙂

    I think you are a very gifted writer. Your entries are very easy and simple to understand. That does not mean they are simple writings. I am no judge of writing, but I like to enjoy what I am reading and enjoyment you do provide.

    And I am not saying nice things just because you included one of my blog entries. LOL

    Wishing you a wonderful reunion with Gosia. 🙂

Leave a Reply

