In the garden this year

Someone asked me recently, about a month ago, what we were growing this year. I logged the question with intentions of writing a post as soon I had taken some pictures, which I promptly did. Take some pictures that is.

So here you go, some pictures of the veg gardens this year, albeit from around 4 weeks ago, with a brief listing of what we are growing.

20200722_123743

The bean triangle, not to be mistaken for the Bermuda triangle, although it is true to say that many things were lost to weeds over time.

Green beans, yellow beans, purple beans all dwarf varieties (for freezing and eating fresh) Climbing Borlotti beans in the foreground growing on hazel tepees (our beans for drying). And then filling in the gaps we have purple spouting broccoli, Brussel sprouts, green and purple kale, paprika, a couple of varieties of chillies, sunflowers, garlic, shallots and a permanent bed of 5 asparagus plants that we grew from seed about 4 years ago. Oh, I almost forgot, there is also a variety of French pumpkin in there.

20200722_13022920200722_125940

Moving onto the green house, which is new for me, we have had great success with cucumbers, aubergine, cape gooseberries,Β  melons, and luffas. Not to mention all the salad that we had early season. I will plan better next year, but I can see the greenhouse working well into the autumn and possibly early winter for more salad crops.

20200722_130305

My pride and joy is always the tomato and pepper patch, about 100 plants of each, sadly struck down by blight not long after this picture, but with some aggressive pruning to cut out the disease we are still able to harvest a basket or two every day.

20200722_130343

Running down the side of these are a few rows of celeriac, basil, spring onions, more peppers and some lavender from seed.

20200722_130417

Past the permanent and ever expanding raspberry patch we have an area for gherkins, then courgettes, carrots, turnip, root parsley, parsnips, beetroot and to the left calendula which Gosia uses as decoration for her soaps.

It is at this point that I realise that I never took a picture of the thousand plus onions that I planted, or the leeks, or the butternut squash. all in the third patch that we work. I should also mention that we have twenty rows (80 meter) of maincrop potatoes, an acre of peas (as a cover crop) but still harvestable, 5 rows of Styrian pumpkins and a mixture of Hokkaido and other pumpkins scattered about the place.

Sometimes I wonder why we do it Smile

Looking back only this last month we have pickled gherkins, made jars of ratatouille and started on our planned hundred plus jars of passata. And the second freezer is now in service full of peas and beans.Β  So if we go back into lockdown we have plenty to keep us going Smile

Author: Eddy Winko

Left the rat race to live a less hectic and harmful life. From the building of a straw bale house to the composting toilet diaries; read my blog https://winkos.wordpress.com/

36 thoughts on “In the garden this year”

    1. Hell πŸ™‚ Good to see you are back and hear the news, congratulations! Only just noticed your comment in spam, so I told WordPress that you are not tin of meat but a real person πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you and yes, the shelves are buckling under the jars of preserves and the third freezer was turned on to deal with the glut for a month or so. We have since manged to eat our way back down to two freezers πŸ™‚

  1. Eddy, we are beyond impressed. You are growing a huge amount, and frankly I don’t know how you’re keeping up. We’re growing a fraction of that and it’s tough going. Credit to you. Looking forward to harvest photos and updates.

    1. Cheers Mars, as I alluded to in some of the comments I couldn’t do it without Gosia and her mum pops over occasionally and helps out as well in exchange for free potatoes πŸ™‚ Thank you for prompting me to do a blog post again πŸ™‚

      1. It is a team effort, I can attest to that from our property, and it’s a lot of work.

        I’m glad you posted again, because it’s great to see what you’re doing, and it sparks ideas for our smallholding.

    1. They have husk less seeds, developed in the Austrian region of Styria, where they press the seeds for oil in a very specific way. My mothers family live in the region and we take our seeds there to have them pressed for oil, assuming our harvest is big enough πŸ™‚ Fingers crossed.

      1. Neither can I, I must have been drunk πŸ™‚ As you probably imagine the garden would not be possible without Gosia, and luckily for me she loves weeding πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.